Smithsonian Prehistoric Sea Monsters Kit Review – Part 1

Smithsonian Prehistoric Sea Monsters Kit Review – Part 1

Cost – 12.99
Species – Unknown, I’m guessing T. longicaudatus
Amazon reviews – 2 stars out of 5 (Mostly having to do with poor instructions, especially when it comes to temperature)


I bought the “Smithsonian Prehistoric Sea Monsters” triops kit at Micheals (a craft store) for $12.99 or so. I have not seen it in any other stores around here, but you can buy it on amazon. Micheals usually has a 40% off coupon, either after you buy something you get a coupon you can use next week, or try going to then click on see all coupons. You can find these kits in the “science” section, next to exploding volcanos, rock crystal candy kits, that kind of thing.

With the coupon that brings the cost down to 8 bucks or so. So what do you get?


You get a small plastic tank, a bag of triops / detritus, food, a bag of white sand, a huge instruction poster with a triops photo and fact sheet on the back, and a dinosaur poster that goes behind the tank. The dinosaur poster is pretty cool if you are 10 years old, which I’m guessing is the average age this kit is aimed at. Although personally I think more adults are intersted in triops then kids.

My first thought was that the tank is way too small to raise triops in, unless you really JUST LOVE doing water changes every 10 hours. I had a tank twice that size with six 2-week old triops and that water got foul on a daily basis. I have also read that with smaller tanks your triops don’t live as long. BUT we shall test it out and see how it goes!

The bag of sand is just enough to put a small layer on the bottom of the container. I’m not sure exactly how many triops eggs you get, I’ll try hatching 1/3 of them first just to see how they do.


They look nice…

The instructions are broken up into three sections – assembly, preparing your triops for hatching, and caring for your triops.

To assemble it says to rinse out the tank with distilled or filtered water, put the sand in the tank, tape the dino poster to the back, and fill the tank with distilled or filtered room temperature water.

I’ve covered this more in the water FAQ, but I think it’s funny how two different commercial kits reccomend different types of water even though I’m pretty sure they are the same species of triops.

Preparing your triops for hatching just says to put half the bag of triops / nutrients in the water. This is a note at the bottom about temperature which basically says the water has to be at least 72f but no more then 86f and that the triops need light. It says if you live in a warm climate to put them by a window, and if it’s cold to put them under a desk lamp.

Funny how they don’t include even a cheapo stick on thermometer, these kits are aimed at young kids but how are they supposed to guess what their water temp is? Especially since it’s so important for hatching.

You can buy a water thermometer at walmart or a petstore for 1-2 dollars. I have a feeling a lot of people going by the “put it in a window or under a lamp” instructions aren’t going to get any triops unless they can actually monitor their temperature…any from reading amazon reviews that looks like what happens. I know in my house if I just put them under a lamp at night the water will drop below 72f unless I put the lamp in really close at night and then pull it back in the afternoon.

The number one complaint on amazon about these kits is the instructions are too vauge. I agree completely, and yes I’m going to say it again, WHY DON’T THEY GIVE YOU A TEMPERATURE STRIP?

The last part of the instructions is about feeding. No where does it say to transfer the triops to a larger tank later on…but I’m going to reserve judgement and try it out and see how it goes. I’ll set everything up, and in part 2 let’s see if they hatch.

Replacement policy if your eggs don’t hatch

Unlike most ebay sellers and another kit I know of, the Smithsonian Prehistoric Sea Monsters kit does NOT have a replacement policy if your eggs don’t hatch.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


  1. Posted April 4, 2014 at 1:40 pm | Permalink

    For an awesome solution please jump over to this site :: reputation Management for restaurants

  2. Posted April 12, 2014 at 2:54 pm | Permalink

    For a better solution please take a look at this post :: Webpage

  3. sadfd
    Posted May 7, 2014 at 6:50 am | Permalink


  4. Posted June 30, 2014 at 2:14 pm | Permalink

    It will give you a different perspective of India
    and illustrates how diversified the culture in this country could be.
    North Georgia Cabin rentals are the best place to sit back and spend leisure time.

    Feel free to surf to my web page web page

  5. Gustavo Ernesto
    Posted July 8, 2014 at 9:02 pm | Permalink

    This pruduct sucks my triops only lived for about 4 weeks and then they died worst 15 dollars of my life.

  6. Posted July 18, 2014 at 3:40 pm | Permalink

    xbox 360 emulator v2.5

  7. Posted July 26, 2014 at 12:59 pm | Permalink

    Can I simply just say what a relief to discover a person that genuinely understands what they’re discussing on the internet.
    You actually realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More and more people ought to read this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you are not more popular given that you definitely have the gift.

    my homepage … webpage – Samantha,

  8. Posted August 7, 2014 at 3:14 am | Permalink

    I got this website from my buddy who shared with me concerning this web
    page and now this time I am visiting this website
    and reading very informative articles at this time.

  9. Posted August 26, 2014 at 10:49 pm | Permalink

    Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the web the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they just do
    not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well
    as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a
    signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  10. Posted September 16, 2014 at 11:01 am | Permalink

    Finally i quit my day job, now i earn a lot of
    money online you should try too, just type in google –
    blackhand roulette system

  11. Posted September 19, 2014 at 3:13 am | Permalink

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i got here to return the choose?.I’m attempting
    to find things to enhance my web site!I guess its adequate
    to use a few of your ideas!!

  12. Posted September 24, 2014 at 10:24 pm | Permalink

    Ces poksts sօnt effectivement plaisants

    Feel free to surf too my site: baise en streaming

  13. Posted October 10, 2014 at 1:02 pm | Permalink

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite certain I will learn plenty of new
    stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  14. naftali
    Posted January 25, 2015 at 10:11 pm | Permalink

    I like this review although it’s not true that grown-up people a are more intrested on triops because I am a kid

  15. naftali
    Posted January 25, 2015 at 10:13 pm | Permalink

    I like this review I like it although I’m a kid

  16. j
    Posted March 6, 2015 at 5:27 pm | Permalink

    Ӏ am sute thiѕ piece οf writinng haѕ touched
    all tɦе internet people, іts гeally гeally gߋod article οn building սp new weblog.

  17. Posted October 24, 2015 at 5:42 pm | Permalink

    that it wont happen again, but if I cant soeohmw learn to trust her again, im only going to push her away with my suspicions. Sometimes I feel like a sucker for trying to work things out, but shes my wife, I married her because I love her and still do. we are only 21, we have been married for 2 years, but we have almost been divorced several times in those 2 years. We are a perfect match for each other, we both have the same interests and dreams, we both LOVE animals and want to work with them for a living, shes a groomer, and im a biology student. We have over 30 pets and run a reptile rescue, and no one else but her and I are going to do that with each other. I don’t want to be told I should leave her, at one point I had considered really cheating on her, to show her just how hard it is to get over something that serious, because she sometimes gets mad at me for being suspicious. Its true she spends ALL her time outside of work with me, and she still works with the guy, but I believe nothing is going on most of the time, but just small misunderstandings will set me off into believing delusions that she is soeohmw still fooling around on me.I need this to stop before I lose my mind, or my wife. I don’t have the money for medication right now, though that is on the to-do list, since I have bad spouts of depression when thoughts of her infidelities wont leave my mind. I just want to be able to trust her, since she is making an honest effort to show me that she regrets her mistakes, and is willing to do anything to prove that she will only be with me from now on. I know she knows how hard it is on me, and I know how hard it is for her to keep trying to show me she can be trusted when I repeatedly suspect and/or accuse her of being unfaithful. I have forgiven a lot, everything she has done, I have forgiven, and vice versa, even tho her discrepancies were far more serious and numerous I guess what im trying to say is .is there ANY couples who have been through this amount of betrayal and still managed to hold things together. It feels like an impossibility for us to end up even remotely happy and healthy on a consistent basis. We are happy for the most part, but the fights over things I make up in my head have got to go, I just cant stop and I don’t know what to do!!!!

  18. Posted October 24, 2015 at 5:48 pm | Permalink

    could this be that women are internally sroengtr than men?i didn’t mean on physical strength and mental capability, but in terms of inner survival drive. as looking back at what they face:women menstruation, first-time intercourse, pregnancy, give birth, labor bleed, child care, breastfeeding, housemaking, and . make money.ok and that’s not included sexual harassment, sex abuse yet. while for most cases,men make money. (only)*additional info taken from other source (edited)*Women have so much on their hands, childbearing, domestic affairs, housekeeping, multi-tasking, the burden of society’s taboos and perception of how to be a woman on her shoulders, the burden of childbirth, the disadvantage of not being able to have multiple partners without being accused of being promiscuous also doing the bulk of the work (and need to obey the husband as to maintain high-effective marriage) , women have also been regarded as more emotional, weaker, physically more fragile than men, stay at home, rear the children, do the cooking and in some societies, there are still cases where women are worthy of less rights than men are given.A woman’s job is 24/7, 7 days a week and a man’s job is 8 hours, 5 days a week.It is also statistically proven that women do 80 percent of the hard, manual labor in the world. (perhaps not including career activities yet)so it takes allot of strength to live with this.also, when it comes to victimization, women children are the preferred target compared to men. Yet many religions also state that women are the ones that are more and easier to be tempted by the evil forces.What is the justification for all this in nature, and why does men seem to be let off so easily?we often hear single-mother though, shows a woman can take care of her life and her children’s all by herself, but hardly listen single-father coz in most cases, single-father can’t stay that single much, where he needs to get a wife pretty soon to do all the things which he can actually do, but pretend he can’t. so, since women had been surviving pretty good under all these burdens and pains, could it be that women are actually made sroengtr at most points?

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>